Daddy gets his turn…

Good evening everyone. Hope you all had a wonderful day! First an update on Jen and her incision. We went to see the Doctor today and it is still tough to say, even for them… It could possibly be an infection (so they put her on antibiotics just in case) or it could still absorb back into her body, or they possibly could have to reopen the incision. We have another appointment on Friday, so will continue to keep you posted.

Speaking of Jen’s Doctor…. I just have to say this…. I will NEVER forget what Dr. Sara Garmel at Oakwood Hospital did for my family and she will always hold a special place in my heart (and I know Jen’s and Ava’s too!). I get emotional even typing this, but without this INCREDIBLE woman I do not know how Jen and Ava would even be doing. She took care of the two most important women in my life and I just cannot express how much I appreciate her. Dr. Garmel has always treated us like family and even brought Ava the cutest piece of art today that said “I’m Kind of a Big Deal”. Again Dr. Garmel and EVERYONE at Oakwood Hospital in Dearborn who has taken care of my family THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart. You are all such talented and special people.

Onto Ava… She was pretty much the same today…nothing too new to post. They tried to bump up her feedings to 13ml, but it was too much and she did not finish. So they put her back to 11ml. She now weighs 1 pound 12 oz so she is getting up there :-). Ava also got to meet her second Aunt Erin (Stedcke, Jen’s Matron of Honor not my sister Erin). This made Jen really happy and of course Erin made her the cutest photo board to match her nursery colors. It is AWESOME…Thanks Erin!

The big news (especially for me) is that Dad got to Kangaroo tonight! Not much to say other than I will never forget that moment for the rest of my life. To feel her breathing right on my chest was amazing. I also truly realized how tiny she is….When she curled up in my shirt and tucked her arms and legs in, she was barley bigger than my hand. So precious! I posted a couple pictures below, hope you like.

Thanks again for all you do and I hope you all wake up tomorrow morning ready to celebrate another great day!

Love,
Evan, Jen, and Ava

20120926-010701.jpg

20120926-010712.jpg

20120926-010720.jpg

20120927-122227.jpg

20120927-122258.jpg

11 thoughts on “Daddy gets his turn…

  1. Jen and Evan, I can’t tell you how much I love reading your blog and seeing pictures of you and little Ava. She is so tiny. She knows how much you love her and how many of us are praying for her to get strong and healthy so she can come home and meet all of us! God bless all of you. XXOO

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your lives with me! It is so special to hear your personal stories. Ava is so inspirational. I feel lucky to be a part of your lives and know Ava. I can’t wait to see her again!!

  3. That’s SO AWESOME Evan!!! Love you guys and can’t wait to meet Ava in person!!! Until then, the update and pics are so great to see!!! Love, The Gronda Cousins in Nashville, TN 😄

  4. Such awesome pictures of both of you guys with Ava! So glad you both got to do Kangaroo time. What an amazing experience it is for all three of you. Keep being strong and amazing parents. You have soooo many people praying for you all. Hugs and love from the Yoches!!

  5. Dear Evan and Jen, I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes, just beaming at these beautiful and amazing photos of the three of you Kangaroos! What an incredible, gorgeous little girl! And such wonderful, loving parents — Jen, I hope your incision heals quickly — we can’t wait to meet Ava — such a tough little cookie! We are in awed, Love, Liz Larin

  6. Great job on the updates. I love the pictures and your detailed description of Ava’s progress and growth. We love you. Mom and Dad

  7. Chopp family…. This is so amazing. To see both of you holding your precious miracle makes me smile and get happy tears. Thanks for sharing your story with everyone, God bless the Chopp family!

  8. IN TEARS! What a blessed miracle little Ava is. Continued prayers Jen’s recovery, people who say c-sections are a breeze make me frustrated. 😉

  9. You write with such sincerity & love that can be felt with each read. This is the first time I have seen this little “miracle”. There are no words that can describe the beauty and love you can see in this photo of you and Ava ( a beautiful name for a beautiful little girl) I can’t wait to see her in person. We have remembered all of you and thought of you daily. Everything will be better now. Prayers for Jen, Ava and Evan

Leave a Reply

